Peru: Part Dos

Standard

So I guess I will pick up where I left off before hand! Well after getting locked in the bathroom in Tito’s house, we chit chatted a little longer. Apparently he owns two homes, the one we visited in Lima, and another home in Huancayo. He invited us to stay at either of his homes anytime we want! Super sweet. He was nice. A bit arrogant, but I guess that’s how most wealthy men are. He had assistants get us like fifty million drinks and I don’t know. I felt fancy.

Well, we said goodbye and took off with Rosa. Driving with Rosa was probably the most anxiety ridden thing I did in Peru! Hahaha. She’s a crazy driver. I can’t even explain it. She always decided at the very last second that she had to turn the opposite way and would try to cut in front of alllllllllll of the other cars, meanwhile cars are piling up behind us and beeping like mad men. I don’t know how we managed to make it out of that car alive.

Despite her questionable driving skills, she was such a sweet lady. She drove us to Miraflores, which was my absolute favorite place during the trip. It was beautiful. Miraflores is literally right on the coast, and you can see the Pacific Ocean and it was just stunning! I’ve never been to the Pacific Ocean so it was kinda cool. Just being able to say I’d seen it. I took so many photos, but I’ll try and post the best ones!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Yeah it was stunning. I had Rosa pull the car over just so I could get these shots. They were so worth it! Definitely some of my favorite photos from the trip. Ohhh, it was lovely lovely lovely.

After our Miraflores trip I believe we went to a restaurant called Dona Julia. We had some picarones and anticuchos! Picarones are kind of like donuts, but they have this very sweet flavor to them. They were lovely. Anticuchos are similar to kebabs. It’s basically steak on a stick. Both were delicious.

After our dinner, we headed home and I was exhausted. It had been a long two days already and I just rested the next day. I was SO beat. So that day was extremely uneventful and not even worth mentioning, even though I just did.

Okay, after my rest day we went to see my Grandma’s SISTER Rosa. Yeah, it’s confusing. She has a cousin Rosa, and a sister Rosa. She lives a little farther out of Lima, so Victor drove us halfway to meet her. Apparently there’s some tension between the siblings of my Grandmother but I have no idea why. He didn’t want to drive us all the way to her house so they settled on meeting in the middle. Anyway, Rosa picked us up and we went to her home. IT WAS SO HOT THAT DAY. I WAS DYING. Plus I don’t think her home had air conditioning. Actually, I don’t think many homes in Peru have air conditioning. Oh the horror!!! Oh well. I met her husband, her two daughters who are in their 30’s, her son, and one of the daughter’s sons, OH and the daughter’s husband. God the families are huge. I really can’t remember all of the names.

We chatted and took photos and they tried to teach me a dance called Huayno. I could not catch on at all. Hahahah. Oh well! It was fun to try. Here’s some photos of everyone.

Image

This is a photo of my Grandma, Katarina, and me! Katarina was such a nice girl. She designs and makes clothing. 🙂 I bought her a fashion sketchpad, and some American fashion magazines and she loved them!

Image

Okay Grandma!

After that we went out to lunch yet again and it’s just going to get monotonous if I keep mentioning each time we went out to eat, because IT WAS A LOT.

Well okay anyway, I was dying to see the main square in Lima so we got a chance to do that. Before we did all of the touristy things, I wanted to go check out all of the souvenir shops and I was in HEAVEN. I wanted to buy everything. I really did. Everything is so colorful and beautiful and just ethnic.

Image

Posing oddly in front of some souvenir shops! Look at all of the lovely purses!

Yeah it was cool. Super cool. Well, this post is getting very lengthy so I’ll stop here and continue my posts soon. 🙂

One response »

  1. Pingback: ACEITUNA,UNA,CUENTO DE RICARDO PALMA | POESÍA DE CAMPO ABIERTO

Leave a comment